August Wrap Up (2016)

I’m sorry I didn’t get this post out sooner, but I have been a bit busy and put my blog on the back burner as of lately.  in August I read an astonishing 9 books! Yay!  Granted, I read 4 of these while on my week-long vacation.  But I still was able to read 5 more books after that.

1) Jackaby by: William Ritter 4/5 Stars

This is the first book in a Sherlock retelling series.  From the first page, I fell in love with the characters and the mystery they would come to solve.  I will talk a bit more on this book in my review, but I throughly enjoyed this book.

2) Beastly Bones by: William Ritter 4/5 Stars

This is the second book in the Jackaby series.  The characters are back at it and solving some more mysteries and falling deeper into a web of hidden truths.  I don’t want to say anymore as I don’t want to spoil it.

3) Dreamology by: Lucy Keating 4/5 Stars

If you are looking for a cute and almost bubbly contemporary, look no further.  Now I am not really one for contemporaries, but I really liked this one.  The concept was very interesting and had me hooked.  It almost makes me wish my dreams would come true.

4) Vengeance Road by: Erin Bowman 5/5 Stars

This book! I freaking loved it!  I’ve always loved the Old West and everything about that time in history, and now I have a YA book set in this time period.  These pages are chocked full of revenge, horses, gun fights, and thieving bandits.  My review will have more of my thoughts on this book, but I loved it with my whole heart.  It will definitely be one of my favorites forever.

5) Furthermore by: Tahereh Mafi 4/5 Stars

Tahereh has outdone herself again!  This was such a cute and interesting Middle grade novel.  I did have a minor issue with this book, but other than that it was really great.  You can read more of my thoughts about this book in my review.

6) Orange: The Complete Collection 1 by: Ichigo Takano 4/5 Stars

The feelings are strong with this one.  I was so excited to read this manga after seeing a lot of my friends had read and loved it.  Needless to say, I was not disappointed.  If you would like a quick, easy read this manga is for you.  Plus the art is amazing!

7) Orange: The Complete Collection 2 by: Ichigo Takano 5/5 Stars

The second collection of this manga series was even better than the last!  It definitely kept me on my toes and craving to know more of what happened to the characters.  I was also very nervous about how it would end, but it ended exactly how I hoped it would.

8) Saga Volume 6 by: Brian K. Vaughan 5/5 Stars

Saga, Saga, Saga.  I loved getting back into this world and following the characters on their journies.  There were so many twists and turns that had me flipping through the pages so fast.  The ending!!!  I need to know what happens next!!!  If you’ve read this you know exactly what I mean.  If you would like to start reading a graphic novel, pick this one up.  You will not be disappointed.

9) An Ember In the Ashes by: Sabaa Tahir 5/5 Stars

I’ve heard so many good things about this book, and with the release of A Torch Against the Night I knew I had to pick this one up.  Right from the first chapter, you are thrust into the world and constantly wondering what will happen next to the characters.  I also loved the little bit of fantasy that is thrown into the world.  It’s not super overwhelming, but it does add to the suspense in this book.  Keep a look out for my review.

Again, I apologize for posting this late, but I promise I will try to post more often than I have been.

Leave a Reply

