September Book Haul (2016)

So much for curbing my book buying!  13!  I got 13 books this month!  Someone needs to take my money and hold it secure so I don’t buy so many books especially because these next few months are full of so many releases that I desperately want. Anyways, back to the books I bought last month:

1)This Is Where It Ends by: Marieke Nijkamp

This book has been on my radar since it came out.  With a lot of school and other shootings becoming prevalent in today’s society, this book’s premise really draws on that.  One thing that really interests me about this book is that it takes place in a span of 54 minutes.  That is one of the shortest timelines that I have ever seen in a YA book.  Needless to say, I’m very excited to get to this book.

2) Crooked Kingdom by: Leigh Bardugo

This book is gorgeous!!!  I can’t belive I have it in my possession.  This is the second and finale book in the Six of Crows duology.  I don’t know much about this series other than there is a large heist and it is set in the same world as the Grisha trilogy.

3) The Thousandth Floor by: Katharine McGee

I don’t know much about this book as I would like to go into it blind, but the cover and endpages are stunning.

4) The Diviners by: Libba Bray

This is yet another book that I don’t know much about. It has gotten many good reviews and I have heard a lot of people saying it’s creepy.  This book sounds like the perfect read for this time of year!  My hard cover copy is beautiful under the dust cover!!

5) A Torch Against the Night by: Sabaa Tahir

This is the second book in the An Ember in the Ashes series.  I don’t want to say too much because of spoilers, but this is one of my most anticipated reads of the year.  I heard some mixed reviews on this book so I’m nervous that it won’t live up to my expectations.

6) The Bone Season by: Samantha Shannon

What if you had a special ability that as long as you are living you are commiting treason?  Paige Mahoney has this issue.  One day she is kidnapped and forced to work for her natural enemy. She must play by the rules to get her freedom back.  I’m super excited to see how this series starts out. I can’t believe that there are going to be seven books and only the first two are out!!  I have no idea if I could wait that long to have the whole series!!

7) The Forgetting by: Sharon Cameron

Could you imagine forgetting everything?  Every twelve years in the city of Canaan it’s citizens forget everything accept Nadia.  Nadia remembers everything.  As the next Forgetting approches, Nadia and Gray, a handsom glassblower, must stop and unseen enemy that threatens the city before people forget.  Both the synopsis an the cover of this book had me hooked from the moment I found out it was being published.  I can’t wait to get to this book!

8) Three Dark Crowns by: Kendare Blake

Three sisters all battling for the crown.  Special powers and lies surounding having or not having them.  The moment they turn sixteen, they will fight to the death to rule.  Everything about this book sounds fast paced and action packed.  I’m definitely going to be picking this book during the winter as things can get slow for me that time of year and I’ll need a good action packed book.

9) Lament by: Alexandra Adornetto

I haven’t even read anything on this book.  I initially picked it up because of the cover and then saw who it was written by and just had to have it.  I still have to read the rest of Alexandra’s Halo series, but I’m interested to see how this book is.

10) Ruined by: Amy Tintera

Fantasy. Thats about as much as I know of this book.  Of course the beautiful cover won me over.  I heard that something happens within the first chapter that really sets the story rolling.  I’m hoping that this book is fast pageturner with lots of fight scenes.

11) The Graces by: Laure Eve

This story is about Graces, who I think are witches.  The storyline follows three of Graces and one girl that desperately wants to be one.  I think it will be interesting to see how everyone’s story intertwines and if River does become a Grace.

12) The Storm by: Virginia Bergin

This is the sequel to H2O, and again, I don’t want to say too much because of spoilers.  I find it interesting how the disease in this book is carried in the rain making it extremely deadly.  It’s almost scary to think of deadly rain.  If that happens I’m heading to the desert!

13) The Girl of Fire and Thorns by: Rae Carson

I first heard of Rae Carson when her book Walk On Earth a Stranger came out, but I had no idea she wrote another series prior to that one.  So now I am slowly getting this series and plan on reading it before I get to her newer series.

Phew!  That’s all of them!  If you made it to this point, thanks for sticking with me :).  I’m definitly going to try and curb my book buying next month, but there are so many good books coming out.  My poor wallet!

Leave a Reply

