Jackaby Review (Spoiler Free)

I have been the biggest fan of everything Sherlock Holmes for the longest time.  Growing up I always secretly wanted to become a detective and solve crimes just like Sherlock.  Anything Sherlock that I can get my hands on is my guilty pleasure.  When I heard about this book I knew I had to have it no matter if I had to sell my soul to get it (which I didn’t…lol).

Set in a little port town in New England in 1892, Abigail Rook has just set foot on American soil and is looking for a job.  She ends up meeting R. F. Jackaby-an investigator with a keen eye for the supernatural.  He hires her due to her impeccable gift of noticing the ordinary yet very important details.  Soon the two are thrust into a case of a serial murderer.  The police-except for Charlie Cane-think they have an ordinary criminal, but Jackaby can’t help but think these dastardly deeds are that of an inhumane creature, the likes of which the authorities are quick to deny.

I freaking loved this book!  Not only does it satisfy my Sherlock craving, but it also has a supernatural twist that creates a whole new story line.  If you also like Doctor Who, you will like this book.  I also liked the fact that the “Watson” character (Abigail Rook) is played by a girl and she has no romantic feelings toward the “Sherlock” character (Jackaby).  I have seen a few romance books where these characters end up falling in love and all that jazz, and initially I feared this was one of those books.  But thank goodness it wasn’t.  That trope just doesn’t quite fit with the Sherlock character I know and almost expect him to be.

Overall, I was rather pleased with this book and couldn’t wait to read the next one.  I highly recommend this book if you like anything Sherlock and/or Doctor Who.

I gave this book a 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

