October Book Haul (2016)

Last month was full of so many new releases that my wallet is seriously hating me right now.  I’m definitely excited to get to all of these books in the near future.

1) Like a River Glorious by: Rae Carson

Last year I saw Walk On Earth a Sranger and even without knowing anything about the book I had to have it due to its beautiful cover.  The second book in this series is no exception!  I have yet to get to these books because I’m weird and like to have a complete series before I start them so I can binge read them all.  I may not get to this book for a while, but at least I have the pretty thing on my shelf. 🙂

2) With Malice by: Eileen Cook

This book has been on my radar since it came out.  While on a trip in Italy, eighteen-year-old Jill Charron is involved in an accident and wakes up in a coma with no recollection of what happened.  When the story goes to the press, Jill finds herself wrapped up in a murder mystery.  This book sounds like it will be a great thriller with lots of twists and turns.  I plan on picking this book up in December or January.

3) Empire of Storms by: Sarah J. Maas

I know this is going to sound awful, but I own every single book in the Throne of Glass series and I have yet to pick them up.  I have absolutely no excuse at all since I do own the books.  I’m thinking that over the next few months I will read one book in the series every month.  That way I can get through them at least before the last one comes out next year.

4) Replica by: Lauren Oliver

This was one of my most anticipated reads of this year.  I have yet to see another Young Adult book that is written like this.  I was incredibly jealous of all the people who got ARCs of this book as they were gorgeous.  I’m hoping to get to this book within the next few months.

5) Frost Like Night by: Sara Raasch

I am seriously not prepared for one of my favorite series to end!  I started this series earlier this year not sure how I would like it, but when I finished the second book I knew that it would be a very difficult wait for the third and final book.  And now that it is here, I almost don’t want to read it.  I’ve heard so many great things about this book, but I’m still not sure I want to pick it up and finish the series.

6) The Rest of Us Just Live Here by: Patrick Ness

The synopsis of this book really intrigued me.  Instead of following “The Chosen One” we follow the characters that are not.  I don’t really know too much more about this book as I want to go into it blind.  I may pick this up when I’m in need of a quick read as it is a fairly short book.

7) The Midnight Star by: Marie Lu

This is the last book in Marie Lu’s The Young Elites series.  I don’t know much about this book other than it follows a main character that is like a villain or something like that.  I have heard so many great things about this series so I will have to binge read all three books fairly soon.

8) A Sky Unbroken by: Megan Crewe

Again, another final book in a series.  All I know about this book is that it takes place in space.  And the cover is absolutely stunning and oh so soft!!  This is another series that I plan on binge reading soon.

9) Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki by: Mamoru Hosoda

Now that I am really starting to get into reading bigger and more in-depth books, I love to have manga on hand so I can read something quick. I’ve seen this around bookstagram and I would really like to watch the anime that is based on this.  It is about a girl named Hana, who falls in love with a man who can turn into a wolf.  They end up having two kids together that also can turn into wolves.  One day he goes missing, and Hana spots some police men hovering over the body of a dead wolf she presumes to be her children’s father.  This anime tells the story of Hana struggling to raise wolf children by herself.  I thought it sounded cute and I just had to get it.

10) Seconds by: Bryan Lee O’Malley

This is another book I got so I can read it between big books.  It’s a graphic novel that has something to do with restaurants, mushrooms, and forgotten memories.  That’s honestly all I know about it.

11) Aerie by: Maria Dahvana Headly

This is the sequel to Magonia.  I actually got the ARC of this book a while ago, but I just had to have to finished hardcover for my shelf 🙂

12) Gemina by: Jay Kristoff and Amie Kauffman

This is the sequel to Illuminae.  Illuminae was one of my top reads of last year and I cannot wait to read this book.  I actually got to see Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff at Yallfest so both my copy od Illuminae and Gemina are signed by them.

13) Vassa in the Night by:Sarah Porter

I got this book in my October Owlcrate.  I don’t know much about this book other than it has to do with a Russian folktale or something to that extent.  I’m going to try to get to this book soon and get a review for it up too.

14) The Golem and the Jinni by: Helene Wecker

I know nothing about this book.  I heard Hannah from A Clockwork Reader on Youtube talk about this being one of her favorite books.  Both Hannah and I have similar taste in books, so I bought it.  Plus the cover is really pretty!

15) The Woman In Cabin 10 by: Ruth Ware

Winter is the time of year that I love reading thrillers and mystery novels.  This one fits the bill.  Lo Blacklock, a travel journalist, scored an amazing week-long trip on a cruise ship.  The skies are clear and things seem to be going extremely well until Lo hears the one thing you never would want to happen on a ship; a woman being thrown overboard.  But as Lo tries to inspect things, she finds that all the passengers and crew are accounted for.  The ship sails on, but Lo is stuck feeling like something has gone terribly wrong.  I definitely want to pick this book up sometime this winter!

I still cannot believe how many books I got this month.  I’m running out of space for them in my room.  I seriously cannot wait until I have my own room dedicated to just books in my own house.

One thought on “October Book Haul (2016)

  1. infinitbr says:

    SO MANY BOOKS! I only bought one this one so I’m pretty happy about that. I feel almost like I’m not broke 😂 I hope you love ToG! It’s my favorite series, and my favorites from it are ToG and CoM! The others are matters of opinion…some people like them but I was eh about them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

