January Wrap Up (2017)

If you guys have been following me on any of my other social media (Instagram, Twitter, etc.) you know that I have been going through a really long reading slump.  This slump has lasted from October and obviously has hindered me last month also.  I’ve tried reading really good books or a few short books to no avail.  Honestly, I’m really hoping I cn get over this reading and blogging slump because I miss being able to discuss the books I’ve read with you guys.  Anywho, here are the three books that I managed to read this past month.

1) Crooked Kingdom by: Leigh Bardugo 5/5 Stars

This book was one of my most anticipated books of 2016, but I didn’t get a change to pick it up until last month.  Guys, this book was AMAZING!  I absolutely adored it, but was also saddened that it was the conclusion.  I’m seriously pining for another companion book that will follow the characters after the events of this duology.  Trust me, there are a few loose ends that Leigh definitely could fill in another book or two if she so pleases.  I was also really hoping that starting off my year with this book would help my slump…..obviously it didn’t, but I still loved it!

2) The Secret of a Heart Note by: Stacey Lee 4/5 Stars

In hopes of maybe reading a short contemporary book to bring me out of my slump I picked up this one (big shout out to Fierce Reads for sending me this book!).  I really was fascinated by the synopsis.  I’ve always been a person that loves to just stop what I’m doing and breathe in all the smells around me, so to read about a girl who could actually smell a person’s aura was really cool.  I will have a full review of this book up shortly (if I can get back into the swing of blogging that is lol).

3) This Is Our Story by: Ashley Elston 4.5/5 Stars

Lastly, I tried a thriller to see if I could kick this slump’s booty.  Omg!  This book had me hooked from the very first line!  I come from a family of hunters so reading about a murder mystery that had to deal with a morning hunting session gone wrong was right up my alley.  This book did not disappoint me at all.  There is so much more that I want to say about this book, but I’ll leave that for my review.

And that concludes the three books I read in the month of January.  While I loved them all dearly, I fear that they did little to bring me out of my slump.  So far February is going well for my reading and I’m hoping to be able to stick to my Goodreads goal for the year and not have to lessen it because of this dang slump.  Hears to hoping!

2 thoughts on “January Wrap Up (2017)

Leave a Reply

