February Wrap Up (2017)

This slump has got me so frustrated!  I am happy that I actually read one more book than I have in previous months, but I wish that I could get back to reading like I used to.  I really hope I didn’t push myself to read so much last year that I burned myself out.  Work has really had me busy, which doesn’t leave much time for reading, but I love filling my days with horse related jobs(hence the horse in the photo).  The four books I did actually read this month were really, really good.

1) Passenger by: Alexandra Bracken 5/5 Stars

The moment this book hit shelves I knew I had to read it!  But of course, with me being a weirdo when it comes to starting unfinished series I put it off until this month.  I loved this book so much!  I do wish there was a little bit more time traveling, but what was in the story was perfect for how the plot was set up.  I also had a bit of an issue with Etta and Nicholas’s relationship as it felt very rushed and almost forced.  Other than that This book was great and I cannot wait to pick up the next one!

2) The Valiant by: Lesley Livingston 4/5 Stars

If you are looking for a book with a very strong, independent female character, look no further!  Fallon is a trained warrior as are most of the people in her clan.  I do feel like this book slowed down a bit in the middle and dragged which is why I only gave it 4 stars.  I was so happy that I was able to get this book while at Yallfest.  It was kind of on accident and if you want to hear the whole story look for my review on this book.

3) A Madness So Discreet by: Mindy McGinnis 4/5 Stars

This month Owlcrate was having a read-a-thon to give everyone an excuse to read the books that they had received in their boxes.  This was the first book I had ever gotten from Owlcrate and I decided to read it and try to take part in the read-a-thon.  I genuinely liked this book, but there were a few parts that made me scratch my head and wonder what was going on.  Nonetheless, it was a very interesting read.

4) The Art of Not Breathing by: Sarah Alexander 3.75/5 Stars

I originally picked this book up because of the title.  I struggle with panic attacks and my breathing sucks because of them.  It wasn’t until I actually started this book that I realized that it takes place in Scotland (Outlander fiend here!).  This book had a very interesting concept, but I had a few issues with characters and relationships between them, hence the lower rating.  I’ll definitely go into more detail in my upcoming review of this book.

While I was actually able to read ONE more book than I have in previous months, I’m still a little ticked off about this slump.  Hopefully it’ll be over soon!

Leave a Reply

