Crooked Kingdom Review (Spoiler Free)

While this review does not contain spoilers for said book, it does contain spoilers for the first book in the series.  Please read the first book before you read this review to avoid spoilers.  My review for Six of Crows can be read here.

It’s over…It’s really over.  I can’t believe I’m done with this series.  Man, I wish it was a trilogy that way I would’ve gotten at least one more book with these characters.  Every emotion is flowing through me as I write this.  I loved this book with all my heart, but it chewed me up and spit me back out.

The heist was a success.  Upon returning to Ketterdam, Kaz and his crew of misfits are double crossed by the man who hired them.  People of power start flocking to Ketterdam to try to uncover the secrets of the deadly drug, jurda parem.  Secrets are uncovered, loyalties tested, revenge plotted.  A battle is destined to come the dark streets of the port city-one so crucial it will decide the fate of the Grisha world as they know it.

The further character development in the book was amazing!  We finally see deeper and deeper into Kaz’s mind, and it’s a dark, sad place.  I really feel for this poor boy and all the struggles he had to go through as a young boy.  I desperately want to hug him and reassure him that everything will be alright.  There are also a few new characters introduced (two in particular that are not as new as they seem ;)).  I literally was squealing when I found out who the one character was! (Sorry I can’t say much more to avoid spoilers)  The ending, the bloody ending!  I was a wreck for days, I repeat, DAYS!  Not only was I a blubbering mess, but also I was happy for those who found solace after the crazy events.  I am praying that Leigh writes more in this world, and not just the legends.  I desperately need more from these characters after an ending like that.  There are so many loose ends that another series is entirely possible if she so wishes to write one.

Overall, I loved this book so freaking much!  I highly, highly recommend this series to anyone looking for a new fantasy read.  It is possible to read these books first, but to get the full effect I would recommend reading the Grisha trilogy first (the world is better explained there and the events of this series happen after the events in the previous one).  In my opinion, it fits better if you read it in that order.

I gave this book 5/5 Stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

