The Waterfall Traveler **ARC Review** (Spoiler Free)

Author: S.J. Lem | Published: April 19th, 2017 by Carpe Noctem Publishing | Series: The Waterfall Traveler #1 | Length: 439 Pages | Genre: YA Fantasy | Source: Netgalley

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.  When I first saw this book, I thought it was going to be a simple middle-grade fantasy read.  Boy, was I wrong and dumb for not reading the synopsis lol.  Can you tell I just judged this book by its cover?

18-year-old Ri wants nothing more than to find the cure to the Sickness and heal her adoptive father, Samuel.  Two strangers appear in her village within hours of each other; one dark and mysterious and the other a charming fugitive.  When dangerous creatures appear she is whisked away by the former through a waterfall and tossed out across the sea to a city run by a oppressive tyrant.  She now not only has to face Samuel’s unlawful past, but a new threat has risked the lives of the men she has grown to care for in her journey.  Ri must gather her strength and fight for her life and those she loves.

Like I said before, I was totally not expecting this epic fantasy adventure.  I did find it a little slow at the beginning, but I think that was my mind trying to process that my expectation was way off.  once things really got moving they went fast and I found it so hard to put the book down and do adult things.  Who needs to sleep or work anyways?  I was so blown away by how well these characters were developed.  There was a large cast of characters, but they all were so well thought out and introduced.  It didn’t confuse me at all like a lot of other fantasy books I have read in the past that also have large casts.  This book had me feeling so many feelings that I almost couldn’t handle it.  I would be laughing one minute and then be sobbing uncontrollably the next.

If you are looking for a quick fantasy read, this is definitely the book for you.  I cannot say enough about this book, but I could seriously go on and on and on about this book.  I need to get a hard copy of this book for my personal library.  I cannot wait for the next book in the series comes out!  I’ll be impatiently waiting until that day comes!

One thought on “The Waterfall Traveler **ARC Review** (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

