May Wrap Up (2017)

I had an absolutely amazing reading month!  Granted a good majority of these books ar audiobooks, I think I can confidently say that my reading slump is gone!!  Due to the vast amounts of time I spend in my car driving, I am now trying to get in the habit of listening to audiobooks instead of music.  It’s almost gotten to the point that I really look forward to driving just so I can continue listening to books lol.

1) Here Lies Daniel Tate by: Cristin Terrill 5/5 Stars

I got this book way back during Yalfest, but I wanted to read it closer to the release date.  I’m almost kicking myself that I waited this long to pick up this amazing book!  I’m so excited that this book can be in y’all’s hands soon!!  You can read my whole review here.

2) 13 Reasons Why by: Jay Asher 5/5 Stars

This book had me intears even though I already kind of knew what was going to happen.  While this book does touch on a sensitive topic, I think it did it rather well.  I originally watched the first few episodes of the Netflix original TV show, but I really wanted to read the book first so I quickly snatched this one up at my local library.  This was one of the first audiobooks I’ve really listened to and I absolutely loved how snarky Hannah’s voice narrater was.

3) The Falconer by: Elizabeth May 5/5 Stars

This book was absolutely amazing!!!!  It was the perfect blend of Scotland, steampunk, and bloody battles.  I originally got this book because it’s cover was absolutely breath taking, but when I heard it was set in Scotland, I was sold for sure.  Aileanna watched her mother be slaughtered in cold blood by fairy.  She spends the next year training and tracking this fairy to seek vengeance for her mother’s brutal murder, but what she doesn’t know is that she harbors powers that some fae will stop at nothing to steal or extinguish.  Keep an eye out for my review on this book!

4) We Were Liars by: E. Lockhart 3.75/5 Stars

What I wouldn’t give to have a rich family that owns their own private island to vacation at.  Cadence , her Liars (Johnny, Mirren, and Gat), and the rest of her family spend their summers soaking up the sun and walking on the beach.  But the most perfect families sometimes hide the biggest lies.  The ending of this thriller had me gasping and trying not to sob.  I didn’t quite like how it seemed like no one tried to help Cady when she asked for it.  They all just seemed to close right off and turn away from her.  But other than that this book was pretty good.

5) I Was Here by: Gayle Foreman 3.5/5 Stars

In the wake of reading 13 Reasons Why, I wanted to read another book similar to it.  Well I got what I wanted, but I think I didn’t really like this book as much due to it being TOO similar.  Down to the rocketship. THE. ROCKETSHIP.  I mean come on….  I think maybe if I hadn’t read this book so close to the other I may have liked it more, but this is how my opinion stands as of now.

6) If I Was Your Girl by: Meredith Russo 3.5/5 Stars

I’m not really sure how I feel about this book.  It was definitely interesting, but I’m kinda torn about it.  In being a Christian, I try to learn about and understand and love those around me.  This book was a bit of an eye opener, but I know it in no way represents everything that transgender people go through.  I would love to hear your thoughts on this book if you have read it.

7) Hunted by: Megan Spooner 4/5 Stars

For the last half of this month my book club chose to read this book.  I was a little skeptical as I’ve read some good retellings and some bad retellings.  This book was a really good one!!  I loved how it was similar yet very different from the Disney version of Beauty and the Beast that I have come to know and love.  I also loved the magical elements in this book.  I didn’t really quite understand the ending so I may go back and read that down the road.

I feel like after this great reading month I can breathe a sigh of relief.  While I may not be “reading” the all the books I still feel like I was able to acomplish a lot more than I have since last September.  Here’s hoping to June being another great reading month!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

