The Falconer Review (Spoiler Free)

Author: Elizabeth May | Published: May 6, 2014 by Chronicle Books | Series: The Falconer #1 | Length: 378 pages | Genre: YA Fantasy  | Source: I got this book at my local Barnes & Noble | Side note: There is a bit of swearing in this book just to let those know who don’t like to read that.

Set in 1844 Edinburgh, Scotland, Aileana Kameron has everyhting a girl could ask for.  Lavish dresses, jems, many courters, brains, and beauty beyond belief.  She also a big fat liar.  She only looks the part, as during she uses her skills to sense the sithichean-a faery race that kills humans-and kill them.  Now Aileana wasn’t always this way.  A year prior she watched her mother be slaughtered by one of the fae.   With the help of a very handsome mentor Aileana learns to fight the fae and seek vengeance for her mother’s death.  As Aileana trains she learns that she is the last in a long line of female warriors called Falconers who are skilled in killing the fae.  She is the last hope the world has.

This book was honestly a cover buy for me.  I saw the pretty little thing sitting on the shelf at Barnes & Noble and knew I just had to have it.  I have no idea why I never picked up the book until now.  How very stupid on my part!  From the first page turning I could NOT GET ENOUGH!  It physically hurt to set it down lol.  All the fight scenes and suttle romance had me craving more like a chubby kid craves cake.  Kiaran is litterally my new book boyfriend.  Make way Jace and Will we have a new occupant lol.  I loved how this book had some steampunk elements and how those element clicked and whirred their way into how the story was written.  I really wish I had a little faery like Derrick to mend my clothes and make me laugh with his honey-drunken self.  While it did have some more language than most YA books that I have read, this book was everything that I didn’t know I had been searching for in a YA Fantasy novel.  Almost as soon as I finished this book I just had to order the second one!

I would highly, highly recommend this book to anyone that likes books with fae or a touch of history or steampunk.  You won’t be disappointed by this book!

I gave this book 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

One thought on “The Falconer Review (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

