Book Con Haul 2017

This spur-of-the-moment trip had to be one of the BEST trips I have ever taken!  Last year I had planned to be in Texas at this time which meant I wasn’t planning on going to Book Con at all.  Due to some circumstances, my Texas trip was pushed back a year freeing up my time to plan this trip.  I really had no idea what I was going to do there because I didn’t get a chance to snag any signing tickets.  Those things were all gone within MINUTES!  Ain’t nobody competing with crazy book lovers lol!  So essentially, I just planned on going and dragging a few books with me in the off-chance that I got to see an author while meandering around, and maybe if I was lucky, I could snag a few ARCs.  But being an introvert I sought out another Book Con newbie through their app and together we put her spread sheet of ARC drops to good use.  This girl was wicked prepared where I was lacking.  Even a lot of these ARCs ended up in our hands just by chance.

1) Ringer by: Lauren Oliver

As I was waiting for my new friend to find me, I wandered around the Harper Collins booth and just happened to hear a girl asking about how to get this ARC.  Apparently you had to purchase the first book, Replica, at one of the other booths and then come back and show the lady both the book and the receipt and then she;d hand you the ARC.  Simple enough.  I kindly asked the girl’s father if he could grab me a copy of Replica, handed him $20, and he scuttled off to get us the books as we stood there eagerly waiting.  As he was gone, my friend found me and we explained why we were waiting.  When the girl’s father returned, he sullenly shook his head saying they were out of that particular book.  The girl and I must have given the lady our best puppy-dog eyes because she put her finger to her lips and told us not to tell and handed the girl, my friend, and I Ringer and The Dazzling Heights!

2) The Dazzling Heights by: Katharine McGee

I was ecstatic to get this book!  I heard so many people say that they only gave out around 20 copies of it and I feel very grateful that I was able to get it!

3) Gunslinger Girl by: Lyndsay Ely

As my friend and I wandered around again we happened upon a rather long line and asked the lady near the end what she was standing in line for.  She explained that it was a line for a couple ARCs that were getting signed by the authors.  My friend and I happily walked to the end of the line only to find it had been capped off.  The lady at the end of the line was kind enough to tell us that the same authors would be signing more ARCs later that day in one of the meeting rooms.  I hurriedly wrote down the information and when the time came we raced to the meeting room.  When we got there we each got a sticky note with our name written on it and were told that they would be capping the line soon and we had just made it under the 100 person limit.  I was able to meet the lovely Lyndsay and get my book signed by her!

4) Hunting Prince Dracula by: Kerri Manscalco

Along with Gunslinger Girl, I also was able to meet Kerri and get an ARC of her next book.  Granted, I have not read Stalking Jack the Ripper (Shame on me :(!! ), but that book has been on my TBR since it came out and I plan on getting to both books before the release date of HPD so I can have a review up for y’all :).

5) A Map for Wrecked Girls by: Jessica Taylor

As my friend and I waited at the Penguin booth for a chance to win something else, a line had formed for this ARC.  I quick snuck over and got in line.  I swear I didn’t cut and I even asked a ton of people where the end of the line was.  Well the lady handing out the books must have seen me standing off to the side a minute ago and she gave me a hard look.  I turned around and no one else was behind me and turned back to her and said I’m at the end of the line.  She begrudgingly handed me a book and gave me a glare as I scurried away with confusion probably smudged across my face.  It wasn’t like a budged and I even asked tons of people who were apparently in line for something else if they were in the right line.  Either way, I was able to get this book, and I can’t wait to read it!

6) Zenith by: Sasha Alsberg, Lindsay Cummings

Getting this book was the BIGGEST highlight of going to Book Con.  I never expected to get any of the big name ARCs that would be available there just because I knew there would be swarms of people wanting the same book. (The rush for Warcross on Saturday was insane!)  On Sunday, my friend and I met up right before the show floor opened up at 10am.  Once we were all allowed in we rushed to try for another ARC, but they were all gone by the time we got there so we just wandered around waiting for the next ARC drop on her list.  We both knew that we wanted Zenith desperately, so we made it a point to make sure we were ready to line up before it was dropped at 1pm.  As we walked around one booth, I just happened to hear someone behind me say, “I can’t believe they’re lining up for Zenith already.”  I turned to my friend and then to the woman in a line near us and asked what they were waiting for.  Sure enough, Zenith.  We quick walked around looking for the end of the line.  In each person’s hand was a sticky with a number and we dreaded watching the numbers climb.  24….37….45….59….70.  We prayed that they had at least 100 ARCs as we scrambled to the end of the line and got the numbers 71 and 72.  The woman handing out the sticky notes explained to us how they may only have 100 ARCs so they were handing out numbers and once they got to 100 they would explain that after that point people could meet Sasha and Lindsay, but they may not get a book.  So at 10:30am we waited 2 and a half hours to meet Sasha and Lindsay and get their book!  I loved getting to chat with they as they signed my book.  I’ve always been a big fan of Sasha’s Youtube channel and it was almost strange that I was seeing her in person and not on my phone screen lol.

All in all this trip was a huge success!  There were a couple of books that I desperately wanted and didn’t get, but there’s always a chance with giveaways or #booksfortrade of Twitter!  I definitely would go back to Book Con in the future, but it might be a few years until I can go again.  Now that this trip is over I can’t wait for Yallfest!

One thought on “Book Con Haul 2017

Leave a Reply

