The Vanishing Throne Review (Spoiler Free)

Author: Elizabeth May | Published: June 21, 2016 by Chronicle Books | Series: The Falconer #2 | Length: 458 pages| Genre: YA fantasy | Source: I got this book from my local Barnes & Noble | Side note: There is a bit of swearing in this book just to let those know who don’t like to read that

PLEASE NOTE: While this review does not contain spoilers for said book, it may contain spoilers for the first book in the series.  So if you have not read the first book and do not want to be spoiled please do not continue reading this review.  You can read my review for the first book here. Thank you!

After choking in the last precious few seconds of the battle, Aileana falls through the very fae portal she was so desperately trying to close.  She wakes up in a mirrored prison owned by Lonnrach, who has plans for the Falconer.  He tortures her day in and day out for what seems like months.  He bites her and uses her blood to search through her memories for a way to save his world.  When she is rescued by an unexpected ally, she finds that more time has passed than she realized and the lovely city of Edinburgh is little more than ash and rubble.  The few human survivors are hiding out underground with an uneasy treaty with some of the fae.  Aileana is the world’s only hope, but she must awaken her dormant Falconer powers, and in doing so she risks her life.

I’ve read a lot of series in the past where the second book goes through what I’ve heard called as the “second book slump.”  I was a little worried that this book would fall into that and just be added material smooshed between the first and last book.  HOLY CRAP!  This book for sure did not fall into that slump!  I hardly know where to start lol!  I like how we get to see remnants of the torture throughout the book, and it wasn’t just a once and done thing.  No normal person could just get that right out of their mind and Aeliana has flashbacks and chokes at moments due to the memories of that tourcher.  On top of that, we have more KIARAN!!! **swoon**  My book boyfriend is so amazing and sexier than ever.  “‘I am,’ he tells me.  ‘I’m yours.'” EEEEE!!!!!!  Why can’t he just be real already?!  This is yet another reason why I have unrealistic expectations for real-life boyfriends lol.  I ship Kiaran and Aeliana so hard!!  They need to be together and I will be so upset if something happens to them in the next and final instalment of this series.

Little funny story: I read a good majority of this book while on my way to NYC for Book Con, and it was so hard to contain my squeals during the Kiaran and Aeliana scenes.  I’m pretty sure I let one slip, I couldn’t hear it with my headphones, but the guy sitting next to me gave me a couple of funny looks lol.

Overall, this book was absolutely amazing!  It will for sure hold a spot in my top favorite books/series of all time!

I gave this book 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

