Ink and Bone Review (Spoiler Free)

Author: Rachel Caine | Published: July 7, 2015 by New American Library | Series: The Great Library #1 | Length: 351 pages | Genre: YA fantasy | Source: I got this book from my local bookstore.

For years the Great Library has been present in all the major cities, has governed the flow of knowledge to the people.  The use of alchemy helps the Library distribute literature to anyone on the planet through blanks, but the ownership of real books is illegal.  Jess Brightwell has been a part of his family’s smuggling business ever since he could walk.  He has run illegal books all throughout the city of London, but his father has better plans for.  Soon Jess is whisked off to Alexandria to be trained enter the service of the Library and spy for his father.  Loyalties are tested and Jess sees another side of the Library when one of his friends commits heresy.  For the Great Library believes that knowledge is more important than life.

I’ve read a few books about books, but this one has to be one of my favorites!  There is such a diverse cast of characters from all walks of life.  Plus, the cover of this book is beyond beautiful!  As I was reading this book I got a lot of Fahrenheit 451 vibes with books being burned by those against the Library.  It almost is a scary concept that books could be illegal someday to the point that you could lose your life over them.  I don’t know if I can even survive a society like that!  I need books in my life!  I loved the world building in this book as well!  Not only do we get to see a bit of the black trade side of London, but the almost high society of the Scholars in Alexandria.  This book had a lot of twists and turns that were a bit hard to keep up with at times.  Lots and lot of loyalty was tested, and that’s all I’m going to say.

I would highly recommend this book if you also like books like Fahrenheit 451 or just books in general lol.  Hang onto your precious tomes because you never know when they may become illegal one day.

I gave this book 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

5 thoughts on “Ink and Bone Review (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

