June Wrap Up (2017)

YAY! Yet another great reading month!😁 I think I finally kicked my slump in the butt!!πŸ˜‹ Which is perfect because I have a lot of books to read in the next few months.  And without further ado, my June wrap up:

1) The Vanishing Throne by: Elizabeth May 5/5 Stars

This book!!  AHHHH!!😱😱😱  I know a lot of second books in a series go through what many readers call the “second book slump.”  This definitly did not!  It jumped right into the action and kept going THE WHOLE BOOK!  I can’t even put all my feelings on this book into words.  I have a full review written here if you would like to read my attempt at talking about it.

2) Snow Like Ashes by: Sara Raasch 5/5 Stars

I read this book way back in January or February 2016 along with the second book.  Since then, the third book has come out, but I nearly forgot everything about this series.  I decided to get the audiobook from my library and listen to it so I can officially finish this series.  Everything about this world is exquisite.  The fact that the kingdoms are either a seasonπŸŒ·πŸ€πŸ‚β„οΈ or a rhythm. In a way I am kind of sad that I will be ending this series, but I love having the opportunity to dive into this fantasy world again.  I will also write reviews for this series as I continue to read them.  I also bumped up my rating on this book since the last time I read it.

3) Ink and Bone by: Rachel Caine 4/5 Stars

Due to me snagging an eARC copy of the third book in this series on Netgalley, I knew I had to start and read the first 2 books.  I knew little going into this series other than it was about an almighty Library that controlled the distribution of knowledge between the people.  This book turned out to be everything I wanted in a fantasy book.  You can read all of my thoughts on this book here.

4) Cruel Beauty by: Rosamund Hodge 3/5 Stars

I wasn’t really sure about this book.  The world was really interesting in the way that there were 4 elemental hearts that controled everything and it was a Beauty and the Beasy retelling, but I found my mind wandering while listening to this audiobook.  Strong female characters are great in YA novels, but it almost felt like this main character was bratty and bossy and then just wanted to make out.  It was a bit strange….

5) Crimson Bound by: Rosamund Hodge 3/5 Stars

I hoped this book would be a little better than the last one, but it was only better by a small margin.  It was supposed to be set in the same world, but it seemed as if this was set on the opposite side of the planet.  Again we were stuck with a main character that was stubborn and bratty and only wanted to make out.  Like what???  I give the author props though for writing a love interest that doesn’t have handsβœ‹πŸ»πŸ€šπŸ»

6) Paper and Fire by: Rachel Caine 4/5 Stars

And back into the world of the Great Library.  Just like the first book on this list, this one didn’t go through the “second book slump.”  Packed with action and a tad of romance things really start to pick up for Jess and his rebels.  And all I can say is poor    .  My review for this book will be posted in the next few days and I’ll tag it here once it goes up.

*Sigh*  It is such a breath of relief to have a good reading month☺️.  I’ve got some crazy high hopes for next month with my 7+ book TBR pile.  Well off I go to get started!!  Happy reading! πŸ“š

8 thoughts on “June Wrap Up (2017)

Leave a Reply

