July Wrap Up (2017)

I’m loving getting back into reading again!  You have no idea how happy this makes me!  It’s such a relief getting to read so many books every month like I used to.  Enough of my happy gushing, let’s get into the books!

1) Lady Midnight by: Cassandra Clare 5/5 Stars

First off, I listened to this audiobook while driving or doing stuff around the house.  It was actually my second time going through this book.  I read it a few months after it came out and wanted a refresher before I jump into Lord of Shadows next month.  I’m ashamed to say that I forgot a lot and was surprised at parts I should have known were coming lol.  Either way I’m happy I got to this and was able to enjoy it again.

2) The Darkest Part of the Forest by: Holly Black 3/5 Stars

This is the first book that I have ever read by Holly Black.  I’m trying to read at least a few of her books before I pick up The Cruel Prince just to get a feel for her writing style.  I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book.  It did have it’s interesting points, but I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I hoped to.  Hopefully her other books will be better reads for me.

3) The Waking Land by: Callie Bates 3.5/5 Stars

I got this book in my May Illumicrate, and I was so excited to read it, but like the previous book in this list it fell short of my expectations.  I’m not really the biggest fan of high fantasy because there is so much information and so many characters to keep track of, and this book read like that for the first third or so.  A lot of the time I’d end up rereading passages or just skipping because I’d be so confused on what was happening.  Plus I wasn’t a big fan of the main character as she always seemed to have an inner struggle with her power or pine over the want to know if a guy liked her.  It was just annoying to me. Sorry if you really did enjoy this book ๐Ÿ˜ฆ  You can read my full review on it here.

4) Ash and Quill by: Rachel Caine 4/5 Stars

The third installment to The Great Library series was epic!  The more I read of this series, the better they seem to become.  I initially got and eARC of this book off of Netgally, and i owned but had not read the first two books in the series.  That gave me the push to start them, which now I’m kicking myself for not having started them sooner.  This series reminds me so much of Farenheit 451, which was one of my favorite reads in high school.  If you would like to read my full spoiler free review on this book you can find it here.

5) The Thousandth Floor by: Katherine McGee 5/5 Stars

AAAHHHHH!!  I was so not expecting to like this book as much as I do.  I absolutely love when I find a book like that because it doesn’t happen very often.  This book was almost like a futuristic soap opera set in a thousand floor tower with drama and crazy plot twists that leave you begging to be left alone so you can consume this book and all its glory.  Once I started reading this book it was all I could think about if I had to put my book down and actually adult for once.  I will have a review of this book up within a week or so where you can read all my thoughts on this amazing beauty!

6) A Map For Wrecked Girls by: Jessica Taylor 4/5 Stars

The Lost vibes were strong with this book.  A vacation gone horribly wrong leads to a struggle for survival for two sisters and a boy they just met.  I really liked this book, and flew through it in two sittings.  It almost makes me that much more scared of boats and open water.  As if my thalassophobia (fear of the sea/deep water) wasn’t enough lol.  my review for this book will also be up within a week or so.

This month was amazing reading wise, and I’m hoping this continues because I have so many review books I need to read and review for y’all!

Leave a Reply

