Beastly Bones Review (Spoiler Free)

Author: William Ritter | Published: September 22, 2015 by Algonquin Young Readers | Series: Jackaby #2 | Length: 295 pages | Genre: YA fantasy, reimagining | Source: I got this book from my local bookstore.

PLEASE NOTE:  While this review does not contain spoilers for said book, it may contain spoilers for the first book in the series.  SO if you have not read the first book and do not wish to be spoiled please do not continue to read this review.  You can read my review for the first book here.  Thank you!

In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England this are never always as they seem.  Abigail Rook is soon finding that out as she tags along with her new employer R.F. Jackaby as they investigate things on the supernatural level.  When a pack of adorable kittens turns out to be shapeshifters and their owner is murdered with only a puncture wound to go on, Abigail and Jackaby are called to investigate.  Policeman Charlie Cane, newly exiled to Gad’s Valley sends them news and a plead for help when dinosaur bones from a recent dig go missing.  Abigail and Jackaby soon find themselves in search of a thief, a monster, and a murderer.

I recently realized that I had read this book almost exactly a year ago, yet I had not done a review on it.  What the heck Chelcie!  Get it together!  I loved this book so I have no idea why I never wrote a review for it in the first place.  I love this series with my whole heart.  The twist on the Sherlock stories is amazingly done.  There were a lot of new characters that we got to meet in this book that I have a feeling they may play a bigger role down the line.  The budding romance between Abigail and Charlie is driving me insane!  They obviously like each other.  Jeez, just do something about it! This feels like it’s going to be a very long slow burn romance which may drive me over the brink of no return.  I do like how everything came together in ways I wasn’t expecting.  The ending was crazy!!  I desperately couldn’t wait to get my hands on the next book to see what happened next.  I do have to say that the cliffhangers are getting better and more gut wrenching.

Overall, I loved this book!  I highly recommend it if you are a Sherlock fan looking for a little supernatural twist on the famous detectives stories, or if you are in the mood for a quick, quirky mystery.

I gave this book 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

