The Thousandth Floor Review (Spoiler Free)

Author: Katharine McGee | Published: August 30, 2016 by HarperCollins | Series: The Thousandth Floor #1 | Length: 448 pages | Genre: YA futuristic fiction | Source: I got this book from my local bookstore.

A glittering thousand floor tower that reaches for the heavens, and dreams that can come true if you are willing to do anything for them.  Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.  A hundred years into the future, New York is still full of opportunities, but the people never change: everyone wants something and they have something to lose.  Leda Cole struggles with a secret addiction to drugs she never should have tried and a boy that she never should have been involved with.  Eris Dodd-Radson’s flawless life comes crumbling down when a heartbreaking betrayal rips her family apart.  Rylin Myers gets swept into the lives of the highrollers through a job her mom used to have.  She never imagined falling in love with her boss either, but will this new life cost her her old one?  Watt Bakradi is a tech genius who knows everything about everyone due to his hardest kept secret.  When he is hired by one of the upper-floor girls to spy on someone, he finds himself caught up in a massive web of lies.  And living in the highest spot is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically engineered to be perfect.  She seems to have it all-yet one thing she can never have torments her.  Amid the latest advancements and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down…

I wasn’t sure how much I would like this book due to it not being a genre or type of book that I would normally pick up on my own.  I ended up listening to the audiobook during my own personal 24 hour readathon, and I think that was the best decision on my part.  Not only was the audio book very well narrated, but it also felt more like a TV show I was listening to in the background.  The further I got into this book the more and more I just couldn’t get enough.  I’m not a big fan of drama in books or soap operas due to the fact that they can be so predictable and boring to me, but this book had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through.  There were a few predictable parts, but way more unpredictable ones that made me love this book so much.  Initially we meet the main five characters and learn about their lives on the floors that they live on.  As the story really starts picking up all of their lives become tangled in a big web.  Plus, the ending was insane!  You kind of know what is going to happen right from the prologue, but how it gets to that point is mind-blowing.  One of the teens story is a bit frustrating for me, and I so badly want to talk about it, but then this review wouldn’t be spoiler free lol.  I may go into a bit more detail in my review of The Dazzling Heights since by then everything will be revealed.

Overall, this book was absolutely amazing and I couldn’t get enough of it.  I desperately cannot wait to get to the second book!  I highly recommend this book if you like thrillers or books filled with teen drama.

I gave this book 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

One thought on “The Thousandth Floor Review (Spoiler Free)

  1. Justine says:

    I’m reading this right now and can’t make up my mind about it. It’s so compelling and I’m reading it so fast! But I’m really struggling with a couple of characters and the decisions they make. I’m not a huge fan of the soap opera-esque drama either, so I’m glad to hear you liked this! I think I’ll keep on going — I have the second book waiting for me when I finish.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

