The Dazzling Heights **ARC Review** (Spoiler Free)

Author: Katharine McGee | Published: August 29, 2017 by HarperCollins | Series: The Thousandth Floor #2 | Length: 422 pages | Genre: YA futuristic fiction | Source: I got this ARC at BookCon.

PLEASE NOTE: While this review does not contain spoilers for said book, it may contain spoilers for the first book in the series.  So if you have not read the first book and do not wish to be spoiled please do not continue to read this review.  You can read my review for the first book here.  Thank you!

Haunting nightmares of the worst night of Leda’s life now plague her sleep.  She doesn’t want her deepest secret to get out-which is why she hires Watt to keep an eye on those who do know what happened that night at the party.  But neither know what to do when their business relationship becomes personal.  Rylin hates being stuck at another dead-end job, but when she receives a scholarship to attend an elite upper-floor school, her life magically transforms over night.  There’s only one problem, she’ll be seeing the boy she loves and who’s heart she broke every single day.  Avery is struggling with her forbidden romance.  Is there anywhere in the world she and Atlas can be together?  And then there’s the bohemian beauty, Calliope.  She’s brand new to New York with a devious plot in mind and a list of secrets miles long.  No one is safe in the Tower-their every move is being watched by somebody.  But in a world of such dazzling heights, you’re only one step away from a devastating fall…

First off, I want to say a big thank you to HarperCollins for the chance to read an early copy of this book.  I was thankful that I got the opportunity to snag this at BookCon earlier in the summer.  I loved this book!  Not quite as much as the first one, but this one also had its twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat.  One thing I did want to talk about in my last review, but couldn’t because of spoilers, was Avery and Atlas’s relationship.  I don’t know if it’s just me, but it kinda frustrates me a bit.  Here are two people who are in no way related-yes they grew up with the same parents-and yet it is forbidden for them to be together?  How?  Am I missing something here?  I get that people may think it is a little strange, but to be forbidden?  It’s not in my opinion.  I did like that we got to see a new perspective in this book seeing as Eris is no longer.  Calliope’s storyline was really interesting and how she gets all tangled up with the upper-floor characters.  The ending was almost as crazy as the first book, and I’m really interested to see where the plot will go in the third book.  I wish I didn’t have to wait almost another year for the third and possibly final book in the series.  I’m not sure yet if it is just a trilogy or if there are going to be more books to the series than that.

Altogether, I really enjoyed this book, and if you loved the first book then you’ll definitely love this one as well.

I gave this book 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

