Ghostly Echoes Review

Author: William Ritter | Published: August 23, 2016 by Algonquin Young Readers | Series: Jackaby #3 | Length: 341 pages | Genre: YA fantasy, reimagining | Source: I got this book from my local bookstore.

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder—her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, Detective R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all, and her killer may be far more dangerous than they suspected.Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

 

I was so excited to be able to jump into this book.  This was my second time reading it as I read it a few years back while on vacation, and it was just as good if not better the second time around!

In this book we get to here more about Jenny Cavanaugh and what happened to her before she knew Jackaby and Abigail.  We get to see a lot of growth of Jenny’s character as well as her friendship with Abigail. 

This was definitely the darkest out of the three books so far.  I liked how we got to see a LOT more of the world and how everything in that world works.  I don’t really want to say too much more to avoid any spoilers, but this world is so cool!

When I first started this book I went into it not really knowing what to expect.  In both of the other books we do see the return of the same characters, of course, but it just seemed like the first two books were kinda thrown together and didn’t really link up.  Now after having read the third book, I can see that the author had a much larger view for this series.  There is a larger overall arc being formed and is not really starting to come together. 

I really love how unique this series has been so far, and I cannot wait to be able to dive into the final book for the second time!

I highly recommend this book/series if you are looking for a quick and very enveloping book!

I gave this book 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

One thought on “Ghostly Echoes Review

Leave a comment